Hi new blog readers!
After saying that I should TOTALLY start a food blog for about a month now, I'm finally doing it!
So I actually have a ton of things I've been storing in my brain that I am going to write about (a delicious vegan dinner at an underground supper club, vegan and gluten free brownies, a trip to my mom's garden plot, etc...) but right now all I have the mental energy to do is to list off some food related things in my day.
So...
-This morning, I made raw brazil nut milk! I got the recipe out of Sarma Melngailis' and Matthew Kenney's Raw Food, Real World, which is a really beautiful book full of both intricate gourmet recipes, and also some pretty simple ones that 16-year olds such as myself can follow. :P
(Oh PS the "milk" was GOOD, and very good when paired with leftover brownies.)
-Don't worry, I didn't eat brownies for breakfast! Ok, not just brownies. My mom made a delicious green smoothie for me, made with spinach and strawberries, and bananas (I think... I wasn't actually present for the blending...), which sounds like a very strange combination but it is so good. And good for you. But mostly just good.
-For lunch, I basically had two pieces of bread (funnily enough, the butts of a loaf of homemad gluten free (vegan) bread and normal homemade bread, both topped with half an avocado, mashed and with salt and pepper, a great idea I got from Gena at Choosing Raw.
-I went to Harvard Square today, and before I went to see the amazingly awesome Harvard Museum of Natural History, I went to a gourmet foods shop called Cardullo's, which kind of reminded me very much of the many souvenir shops which I visited while in England, but better. There were almost two shelves of high-quality chocolate (I'm a bit of a chocoholic, as you may discover later...). I diligently checked the labels for dark chocolate, then checked to make sure there were no hidden milk ingredients. I finally settled on the "Calindia Bar," a 65% Venezuelan cacao bar with green cardamom, walnuts, dried plums,from Vosges Haut Chocolat, a pretty fancy label for a bar of chocolate that mainly reminded me of some kind of icky fragrant soap. And for $8.99, (!!!) definitely not worth it. And now I have some kind of unsatisfying sugar high. Hmm.
-On to slightly tastier things, I also (attempted) to make peach cupcakes with blueberry filling and coconut icing in preparation for a vegan bakeoff I will be participating in this Saturday in Somerville at the Papercut Zine Library. The actually cupcakes were quite good (even my picky 5-year old brother loved them), and the blueberry filling rocked, but the frosting was just not working. I've been trying to make things that don't have any refined cane sugar of any kind, and it's been pretty easy for most things, because I can just substitute agave or maple syrup, but the one thing that has really stumped me is FROSTING. Ugh. I can't tell you how many recipes I've looked through, tested, and gagged at, in the pursuit of that elusively thick, creamy, but not too buttercream-y, frosting. Today I tried a recipe I found online, using coconut flour, and it really just sucked. Way too sugar-y tasting and it did not get thick enough AT ALL. Next project: peach/blueberry muffins.
Ok, this post was way longer than I thought it would be. Hope I didn't bore you. I promise there will be photos in the next one. :)
No comments:
Post a Comment